A Book.My mentor.

Daily Prompt : Do you have a mentor? Tell us about him or her. Are you a mentor to someone else? Tell us what that relationship has added to your life.

I don’t have a mentor per se,but I have books.I owe them everything.

A school book is a mentor.If you are ready to sit with it for hours and take everything it has to offer,it will take you to excellence.As Plato said: ”We are what we repeatedly do. Excellence, then, is not an act, but a habit.”

A school book does not get mad at you,lecture you or belittle you when you get distracted from your goal.Instead it remains seated in its place and waits,sometimes for hours,sometimes for days.Its silence leads you to put your goals in perspective.If you want something big in your life,you will get back to the book,which will gladly welcome you again; if you will be contented with a quiet life with nothing extravagant,the book will let you leave.It doesn’t put any obligation on your shoulders.It doesn’t force you to study.

A school book is like Confucius.Without any artifice,it teaches and induces self-discipline in you.

Classics have also taken an active part in my life.They give me my daily dose of feelings,intrigue me and leave me in awe for days or weeks.

In times when I was lost,they enlightened with words of wisdom and offered me valuable lessons.They introduced me to some great guys like Dostoevsky,Hemingway or Kafka.Simply reading about them will not suffice to know who they are though;you have to read their books too,for it is through their words that transpires their identity – how picky they were with their structures,how hateful they were towards some systems or how sick they were when writing this book.

Knowing those persons has been of a great help to me.When I am in need of hope,for instance,I do not think of God.I think of them.

Yes,reading books has always been- and always will be- a life-changing experience for me.

6 thoughts on “A Book.My mentor.”

Tell me what you think! :)

