Late July & Early August TBR Books

Still on course to catch up with my reading this year, I will try to finish these 4 books by early August:

1. The Outsider – Albert Camus
StrangerI still haven’t got around to reading ” L’Etranger”. Oddly enough, it was one of my first Folio books, way back in 2013! Somehow I overlooked it for other more appealing books at that time. Everyone says it is brilliant.

2. I Know Why the Caged Birds Sing – Maya Angelou
maya angelouI bought this second-hand Folio edition a little before going to university. It was the first of many then. Published a very long time ago, it is one of the rare Folio editions that do not have any illustration. I guess that’s why I took so long to decide to read it, just as I did with The Outsider. The cover is oddly bland. Anyway, I hope it will be a nice book. My flatmate, whom I rarely saw throughout my 2nd year, said it is her favourite book. That’s perhaps the most striking memory I have of her.

3. The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
Remains of the DayI’m on a roll. At the time I’m writing this post the two last books I’ve read are The Sea and  The Narrow Road to the Deep North, both of which are Booker Prize winners. I know that The Remains of the Day is lauded by many and is so compelling that it can be read in a matter of days. In 2013 I loved reading Never Let Me Go, so I cannot wait to read this one, which everybody says is better.

4. Schindler’s Ark – Thomas Keneally 
SchindlerUntil late 2014 I didn’t know the book on which is based Schindler’s List won the Booker Prize. I saw it on sale on ebay in pristine condition, so bought it instantly. It’s been sitting on my shelf ever since.Lately, I watched The Labyrinth of Silence, a movie about how countless Nazis returned to their pre-war lives without penalty. It got me intrigued. While I’ve read bits here and there on the holocaust, I’ve never quite actually read a powerful enough book to make me understand what a horrible thing Nazism was. I hope it’s readable.

5 thoughts on “Late July & Early August TBR Books”

  1. You own the prettiest editions! I didn’t know Schindler’s List was based on a book, I must own it now! Remains of the Day and The Stranger are on my wishlist, would love to know your thoughts on them!

    1. Oh thanks,Komal! 😉
      They didn’t cost me much to be honest. The Stranger and Remains of the Day came from a sale, while the others were bought for pretty cheap prices on eBay!
      Schindler’s List and Remains of the Day are Booker Winners, so I guess you can do no wrong in picking them. I will read them once I’m done with I Know Why the Caged Bird Sings.
      As always, thanks for commenting! 🙂
      Do you have a profile somewhere where I can follow you?

      1. That sounds like a bargain! 😀
        No, I don’t. I just have a few favourite blogs that I often come and visit time and again and yours is ❤ ❤

      2. Oh,thanks a lot! 🙂
        I’m glad you like the blog, especially when some months ago I was wondering whether or not I should carry on posting new things.
        If I may ask, where are you from?

      3. Oh no, please do continue posting! Don’t feel obligated to do so, though. As long as you have fun blogging, continue doing so, your readers are here to stay :’D I’m from South Asia! (Pakistan, to be more specific)

Tell me what you think! :)

