Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Wishes I’d Ask The Book Genie To Grant Me

Link: Here

I really wanted to do the Top Ten Tuesday post this week,but I simply couldn’t find the time.Well,even though I’m super late,I think it might still be interesting and fun to write about my bookish fantasies.

As you already know,Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme created by the guys at Brokeandbookish. Without further ado,let’s start!

So,Book Genie,grant me the wish to:

1.Meet Jorge Luis Borges in Paradise
You’ve heard and seen the quote multiple times before: ”I have always imagined that Paradise will be a kind of library.” Incidentally it happens to be from Jorge Luis Borges.While I do wish the same regarding Paradise,I also hope that I will be able to meet my favourite authors after death,especially Borges.Why him? Because his short stories are little masterpieces of extreme complexity that must have required an awful amount of thinking.I want to meet him with Labyrinths (his collection of short stories) in my hands and ask him about the origins of each of each story.I believe he was one of the world’s greatest minds.

2.Read in Russian and Spanish
One Hundred Years of Solitude and Anna Karenina are two books that are very dear to me.The feeling I got when reading them is unspeakable.I read them both in English,so I cannot even imagine how beautiful they are in their original language.That is why I wish to one day be able to read in Russian and Spanish.

3.Let Oscar Wilde be immortal
Is he the wittiest person to have ever lived? In any case,I believe every era needs an Oscar Wilde.The guy was already extremely sophisticated in his thoughts in the late 19th century,so much so that he is still one of the most quotable persons today.I wonder what he would have said and written if he had witnessed the 50s,60s,70s and onward!

4.Have a high-ceiling library
When I watched The Great Gatsby,I was dazzled by the immensity of the ballroom.I think high ceilings add an air of grandeur to anything,so I wish could have a library with extremely tall bookshelves.It would feel like heaven then.

5.Visit Hogwarts
Haha,that’s a childhood dream.Who wouldn’t like to visit Hogwarts?

6.Know in advance if I’m going to hate a book.
Moby Dick,Frankenstein,Heart of Darkness are among those books that have slowed me on my quest to read the best books of all time.It is even worse for me because I never stop reading a book no matter how disappointing it is.If only I knew how much I would dislike Moby Dick,I wouldn’t have to go through endless digressions about cetology.

7.Have all the time in the world to read books.
I dread the thought that I may one day die before reading at least three quarter of my TBR list.I hope I can lead a life long enough to achieve this goal.

8.Stop Keira Knightley from starring in movie adaptations of books.
She has already starred in Anna Karenina,Atonement,Pride&Prejudice and Never Let Me Go.I don’t know if it’s me only,but I think she is a very wooden actress.She is as far as Anna Karenina could come in my mind.

9.Instill more discipline in the way I pick my next book.
I buy a lot of books,supposedly in advance for my future reading.But when I have to pick my next book to read,I generally don’t feel enticed to the books I previously bought.As a result,I can find myself buying a book I’ve suddenly wanted to read.That’s weird,and I wish I had more discipline in that respect so that I could cut my TBR stack significantly.

10.Have more fancy bookshops around.
Whenever I go to the Waterstones shop in Canterbury,I am always overwhelmed by the sheer variety of books on display; for instance,among all the beautiful editions of classics and modern classics,I found a very little known Booker Prize winner called The Inheritance of Loss (which is one of my all-time-favourites). Besides the latest award-winning books are always displayed at the entrance,hence tempting us to come and have a look at them.I wish independent bookstores were more creative and innovative like Waterstones.These booksellers seem to do very little to entice you,with the books often dully arranged on similarly dull bookshelves.

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: 10 Wishes I’d Ask The Book Genie To Grant Me”

  1. I totaly agree with you on Keira Knightley. I find her acting so…childish. No way she can embody the strong women in the books

    100 years of solitude is the favorite book of my grandfather, he read it in Spanish. He said that it takes a diffrent mindset to grasp its beauty and mystery. Have you read other books of Gabriel Garcia?

    1. Haha,I’m glad I’m not the only one who thinks so.
      I didn’t think too much about her,but when she starred in Anna Karenina,I was really annoyed.Such a poor actress for such a great movie.

      Hmm,yep.I read Gabriel Garcia Marquez’s short stories and also a book which he wrote when he was still a journalist: News of a Kidnapping.It’s about how Pablo Escobar and his men fought the government and had relatives of influential men in Colombian kidnapped in a bid to stop the government from extraditing them to the US.It was really good! One of the best books I’ve read this year,unexpectedly.

  2. I like Keira Knightley so I’m not going to agree with that one 😉 but YES to 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, and 10. Can’t agree more!

    1. Haha.In fact,I don’t hate her,but she just didn’t have to star in Anna Karenina.That’s not at all how Tolstoy’s character was meant to be.Whenever I see her I always feel like she’s not eating properly; she looks very anorexic.Anna happens to be a very lively character who goes through various phases in the book,so I believe they should have selected an actress who was more multifaceted.

      Ahh,I don’t know,but Anna Karenina is one my favourite books ever,so I guess that’s why I’m being so picky!

      As usual,thank you for commenting! 😀

    1. I just don’t think Knightley is an actress who can pull various roles.I mean,DiCaprio can star in different roles and he will be perfect,but Knightley just doesn’t do it for me.

      Rooney Mara for The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo and Helena Bonham Carter for Fight Club were absolutely perfect choices,and I wish the directors had taken the time to find the perfect ‘Anna Karenina’ instead of going for a big name.

Tell me what you think! :)

