Proust’s Questionnaire

I’ve wanted to take the Proust’s questionnaire for a good while,but always forgot to do so.Now that I’m on vacation,albeit at the end of it,I think there couldn’t be a better moment to take the questionnaire and add it on my blog.

This is a very boring post.

1.What is your idea of perfect happiness?
I like this quote from Milan Kundera: ”And therein lies the whole of man’s plight. Human time does not turn in a circle; it runs ahead in a straight line. That is why man cannot be happy: happiness is the longing for repetition.” I think we should be aware of this fact and try to find happiness in those quiet and little moments when we are free from parental,work or marital pressure and when we’re doing things we enjoy – reading books,having a cup of tea,watching a movie,etc.In other words,happiness is so subtle at times that it may come and go unnoticed.

2.What is your greatest fear?
My greatest fear is if my life doesn’t turn out as expected.

3.What is the trait you most deplore in yourself?
I’m very cynic.I cannot bring myself to trust people totally.I’ve been so disappointed in the past that I prefer not to mingle too much with others.

4.What is the trait you most deplore in others?
Vanity.With so many platforms to share the happenings of their lives on,people have become extremely vain.They don’t let go of any opportunity to showcase their cars,houses,phones,or looks.It’s as if they’re making a statement in doing so.I’d also add some people’s propensity to cheat.I don’t know how they can go about betraying their dear ones who trust them fully.

5.Which living person do you most admire?
I’ve thought about that a lot,as most of the people I admire are long dead.I’d choose Sir Alex Ferguson.His capacity to rally his troops,his temperament,his guts and his genius all make him a legend.I consider myself lucky for having witnessed him manage Manchester United.

6.What is your greatest extravagance?
I spend much on Folio Society books,but I really like them.I’m also very fond of perfumes and I’m currently saving my money to buy a few – they are quite expensive.I also own a PS4,which means I’ll have to buy the games at roughly 30-40 pounds sterling.I guess not smoking and drinking does help!

7.What is your current state of mind?
Apprehensive.I’m good,but I don’t know how life will be in the future,when my parents will grow old and I will have to work.

8.What do you consider the most overrated virtue?
I’d say martyrdom.I don’t like how people will help you only to indirectly glorify themselves afterwards while demeaning you: ”I took care of your garden in the high heat while you were relaxing indoors.” The thing with ‘martyrs’ is that they are always the first who will offer you their help; you normally never ask them anything.

9.On what occasion do you lie?
I rarely lie,because I don’t get myself entangled in complicated situations.I guess I lie when I don’t wish to make a conversation anymore tedious.Obviously if I’m in a desperate situation,I’ll then also think of lying.Well,normally,I’ll only lie when I know I’ll be able to catch up on the lie or the person won’t be able to check the veracity of my claim.

10.What do you most dislike about your appearance?
For a good while I was obsessed with my height – I’m 5’5.I saw how girls,even the short ones,were extremely antagonizing towards people of short stature,so I was really hurt and even considered limb lengthening surgery at one point.As I found happiness in reading,playing the PS4 and buying things I fancy,I’ve somewhat stopped bothering myself about my height.Having a girlfriend,I guess,is not something for me.As for the claim that short people fare worse at work,I just cannot do anything about that.For the time being I’d love to get a remedy (that works!) for my dark circles.

11.Which living person do you most despise?
All the terrorists,murderers and rapists.I loathe at how ISIS wiped historical statues off the face of the world.And I always get enraged when I read how people are being murdered for holding different beliefs.As for those beasts raping,impregnating and infecting girls and women,I don’t even know where to start.

12.What is the quality you most like in a man?
Well,I appreciate it when a man saves himself from uttering obscenities in the presence of children,girls and women.

13.What is the quality you most like in a woman?
I really like soft-spoken girls,with much grace and simplicity.

14.Which words or phrases do you most overuse?
It’s ”Franc tout”,meaning ‘really’ as in ”Really,that movie was so great.” or ”Really,I was so disappointed”.

15.What or who is the greatest love of your life?
My books.

16.When and where are you happiest?
It was in the midst of my gap year in 2014.I read so many great books,like Anna Karenina,The Great Gatsby,Lord of the Flies,Never Let Me Go and Labyrinths.I also watched Breaking Bad and played GTA V at that time.

17.Which talent would you most like to have?
I guess I’d want to play the piano like a professional.Then I’d be able to play ‘Clair de Lune’,’Liebestraum’ and such other compositions.

18.If you could change something about yourself,what would it be?
Maybe I’d like to be less of a procrastinator!

19.What do you consider your biggest achievement?
I did very well my studies,but I know others who did as much,but who’re spiteful – they look down on art,have no manners,are arrogant,etc.So I don’t know for sure what my biggest achievement is.I’m just pleased I’m able to enjoy reading books and appreciate fine art.

20.If you were to die and come back as a person or a thing, what would it be?
I don’t really know.The world is getting worse and worse,and I would really like to take birth in another dimension,another planet or something like that.

21.Where would you most like to live?
I’d say England,even if I’ve had some weird looks from the English people there – at the same time,you can’t blame all of them,given how most immigrants have been ripping off the benefits system (Well there are people who are also just blatantly racist).Given how good I am in my country,I’d live in England only if I have a decent job.England is ideal for me because shipping for books doesn’t cost much,Amazon sells absolutely everything,the weather is ideal for Alaskan Malamutes and Huskies,which I dream of owning.I also hate the heat in my country.

22.What is your most treasured possession?
My collection of books,from my paperbacks to my Folios.What they gave me is priceless.

23.What do you regard as the lowest depth of misery?
Thinking that your life has been a success just because you own very expensive objects.

24.What is your favourite occupation?
I love watching Manchester United play.I also love reading a very good book – if it’s a boring book,then it becomes a rather cumbersome experience.Playing really good games on my PS4 should also be on the list.

25.What is your most marked characteristic?
The fact that I’m not obsessed with girls and sex and hate talking about nonsensical things means I’m well-appreciated with introverts or people who like introverts.On the other hand,extroverts tend to see me as a retard or something,especially when I don’t have anything to say to them.

26.What do you most value in your friends?
I’m very independent and ask for help only from my parents.I also do my best whenever I’m helping somebody.On the rare moments I in turn ask for their help,I’d expect to be able to count on them.

27.Who are your favourite writers?
There are too many authors.Without thinking too much,here are the names that come first in mind: Kiran Desai,Jorge Luis Borges,Leo Tolstoy and Alice Munro.

28.Who is your hero of fiction?
Batman.I’m always fascinated whenever I read the comics.He never disappoints,and you can always feel the weight of being a superhero on his shoulders.He stands out from the rest of superheroes because he never just ”saves the day”; everything that happens in the comics contributes to making him darker and more resolute to combat crime.

29.Which historical figure do you identify most with?
For a long while it was Che Guevara.But I read some really bad things about him,so I no longer see myself in him.I guess I identify myself with Elizabeth Fry for her immeasurable compassion,Eleanor Roosevelt for her guts to stand for her rights,and Nellie Bly for the belief she had in herself to beat the odds.These are all women of immense virtues who greatly inspire me.

30.Who are your heroes in real life?
In a world where people are constantly looking after their own interests,I fail to see any hero.That being said,I really like the work of Brandon Stanton for Humans of New York and what he did for people in New York and Pakistan.He is only 31,so I’m dead sure he’ll keep on doing great things in the future.

31.What are your favourite names?
I like ‘Ely’ and ‘Nelly’,because of the great women mentioned above.Also ‘Dunechka’ which I saw in ‘Crime and Punishment’.Hmm,I also really fancy the Irish name ‘Saoirse’ (it’s pronounced ‘Sursya’ according to Irish actress Saoirse Ronan).

32.What is it that you most dislike?
Bad manners,lack of tact,vanity,lack of sensitivity to art.

33.What is your greatest regret?
Sure there are regrets here and there,but are they really regrets if I’m happy with who I am today?

34.How would you like to die?
In the least painful way possible.

35.What is your motto?
Become who you are; don’t become what you become.(Nietzsche)

9 thoughts on “Proust’s Questionnaire”

  1. This is a fascinating questionnaire and even more fascinating are your answers. I’d agree with you on many points. I appreciate you sharing these rather personal details.

    1. Haha,I just felt like doing it,and my blog provided the only platform.

      And,yep,the details are personal,but then,nobody actually knows me,so it’s all good.

      I guess I also did it because I don’t think I’ll be blogging that much in the coming future. 🙂

  2. Building on your point 4, the element of human behaviour that disturbs me. Ost via social media is how nasty so e people can be. They see, to think that posting behind a user name gives them a shield of anonymity which means they can be quick to find fault and make judgements

  3. First time hearing about this questionnaire! 🙂 Interesting.
    I love this one:
    15.What or who is the greatest love of your life?
    My books.

    🙂

    Also love how you quoted Milan Kundera in the first question. 🙂

    1. Oh you can try it yourself!
      The questionnaire was invented by Proust’s female friend when they were both still kids.They were bored,and that’s how came the idea of inventing a questionnaire.

      Haha,I’m glad you can appreciate the answers.It’s true that what my books gave me is priceless,and for nothing on Earth would I exchange them!

      As for the Kundera quote,he is one of the persons who’ve most changed my outlook on life,so much so that his sayings very often spring to mind whenever I’m ”philosophizing”. 🙂

  4. Not “very boring post”, great answers in all.
    #10 is not that short. I guess I was always envious of shorter people.Then I wanted dark curly hair and big brown cat eyes. Funny how it goes.

    And #1. I try to concentrate on little moments in my life because time passes so quickly haha I was just born old and have worn out soul.

    Extra points for Batman! 🙂
    (because I can give points)

    1. Thanks for the lovely words! 🙂

      Haha,oh,5’5 is very short.Nearly everyone towers over me.What annoys me most is how people tend to be antagonizing over people of short stature.Worse still,even girls my height or shorter say they will never date someone around 5’5.So yeah,when I was 18 or something,I really took it to heart.

      But now I’ve stopped focusing on what girls might say;they are way too judgemental; I tend to do other things instead.I guess that’s how I’ve come at peace with my height.

      As for Batman,you should really give the comics a go.I doubt you’ll be disappointed. 🙂

      And..thanks a lot for commenting! 😀

Tell me what you think! :)

