Just Finished: One Hundred Years of Solitude

DSC_2159 (2)
Click on the pic for better resolution.Wordpress messed up the details.

I finished reading this wonderful novel two days ago,but was too lazy to take a pic of the book and write a post,hence why I’m doing it only now.

What can I say about this book? I knew it would be a superb read,because as far as I can remember I’ve not met anybody who disliked it.This masterpiece however completely exceeded my expectations.

During the few days it took me to read the book,I felt as if I was holding time in my hands.This is the only novel that made me notice time’s work on people.The change that occur over 100 years in Macondo and in the characters is so gradual and adequately paced that you can almost see time walking by in the story.It’s rather complicated to express my feelings about it,because this book evoked something very ineffable in me.

The novel is also magical,not only because of the use of magic realism; it’s just that the prose was tirelessly beautiful,and everything was so detailed,from the trivial doings of the children to the more important changes in Macondo.Every word in it breathed poetry.

Well,I don’t wish to keep rambling any longer: One Hundred Years of Solitude was a delight to the soul.It is flawless.So much so that I was sad that it came to an end.

As usual,this is just a brief post in which I express my first thoughts about the book.In the coming days or weeks,I’ll write something more formal and elaborate.

What I’m currently reading: The Grimm Fairy Tales.I think I’ll move to The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories by Angela Carter afterwards.Then I’ll pick Heart of Darkness.

8 thoughts on “Just Finished: One Hundred Years of Solitude”

  1. I just finished this book too a few weeks ago and I couldn’t agree more with your thoughts on it!

    1. I think Heart of Darkness will be my next read after the Grimm Brothers’ Fairy Tales.

      I wanted to read The Bloody Chamber and Other Stories first,but I wish to know the original fairy tales before doing so,and reading all these fairy tales won’t be anytime soon!

Tell me what you think! :)

