A-Z Bookish Survey Tag

It’s Friday night! The time of the week when I have no assessment to do until late at night,when I have takeaway food and when I try to do things that’ll make me feel free.Though feeling quite sleepy – I haven’t had a good night’s sleep since last Sunday – I’ve taken this A-Z survey,as I wanted to post something on the blog.I’ve googled the survey and it seems to have been created on this blog.Anyway,I hope you have fun reading my answers,however nerdy they may be. 🙂

Author you’ve read the most books from:
Kafka.I’ve read his short stories and three novels.

Best Sequel Ever:
I don’t read books from series,so I’m unable to answer…

Currently Reading:
Quiet by Susan Cain.I finished Part 1,and so far,it has been incredibly insightful and enlightening.It truly is an important book for me.If I had time,I’d have finished it by now.Sadly,due to my hectic schedule,I have to read it at night before going to bed,and that means only 10 pages read daily.

Drink of Choice While Reading:
Water.Okay,I’m too lazy to make a hot chocolate or some coffee.I won’t say no if someone makes it for me.I guess I must find a girl somewhere.(that’s something macho coming from me,I know!)

E-Reader or Physical Book?
Physical books anytime! I just cannot enjoy reading a story on a screen.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated in High School?
I think female participants are spoiled for choice,given the sheer number of male main characters there are in books.For us,guys,it is a different story.Let’s see who could I have dated? She’d be among Dolly,Kitty and Anna from Tolstoy’s Anna Karenina.

Glad You Gave This Book a Chance:
The Unbearable Lightness of Being.When I wasn’t that acquainted with literature,a friend told me about it.He didn’t enjoy it that much,but just mentioned it in a conversation.I was struck by the title and proceeded to look for it in libraries,but as always in Mauritius,they don’t have non-commercial books.I didn’t give up and ordered it online instead.I’m happy I read this book,as it had a huge,huge influence on me,for it bestowed me with another way of looking at things.Simply one of the most important reads in my life.

Hidden Gem Book:
Labyrinths by Jorge Luis Borges.This book won the Pulitzer and Borges is widely regarded as one of the greatest writers ever,yet many people,though being classics lovers,have given it little consideration.I never thought people could write like Borges.As a matter of fact,I just cannot select which story I loved best,for all of them blew my mind away.Labyrinths is a bit like the Breaking Bad of literature;they both spell genius.

Important Moment in Your Reading Life:
After finishing the Harry Potter series,I fell into a reading slump until I found John Grisham’s books.I read some legal thrillers,but afterwards once again fell into a slump.When I had to study The God of Small Things,I discovered quality literature,and it made me fall in love with books once more.That’s how later I set myself the goal to read the greatest books of all time.

Just Finished:
The Golem.Not a bad book,but not that great either.

Kind of Books You Won’t Read:
YA novels.I might annoy people in saying that,but they will never be tomorrow’s classics.The books that people will remember and keep on praising instead are the winners and nominees of the Pulitzer Prize,Booker Prize or National Book Award.

Longest Book You’ve Read:
I think it’s Anna Karenina.It comprises over 700 pages.I’ve also read Moby Dick,but forgot how many pages it contains.

Major Book Hangover Because of:
I think it might be Anna Karenina again.Going through more than 700 pages with superbly depicted characters surely makes you feel attached to them.I was so engrossed in the story that I couldn’t believe everything was pure fiction.Tolstoy was a genius.

Number of Bookcase You Own:
One,but that’ll surely change,given the number of books I’m bringing back home in July!

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:
The God of Small Things.I read it more than five times,as I had to study it for my final year in high school.It never failed to move me,and I never got bored.

Preferred Place to Read:
My bed at night.I love when it’s all quiet and when I can go to sleep immediately after I put a book down,so that I can think of everything over and over until I fall asleep. 🙂

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:
Hmm,tough one.I love quotes; just see how many I’ve shared here.I guess I’d go for Milan Kundera’s ”Kitsch is the denial of shit in our life”.This quote  has remained stuck to my mind ever since I saw it in the book.

Reading Regret:
I shouldn’t have read Moby Dick.

Series You Started and Need to Finish:
None.I don’t read books from series.

Three of Your All-Time Favourite Books:
Hmm,only three of them? Anna Karenina,Lord of the Flies and Labyrinths.I have many other favourites though,which I like just as much as those three aforementioned.

Unapologetic Fangirl (Fanboy?!?!) for:
Reading classics.

Very Excited for this Release More Than All the Others:
Go Set A Watchman.I hope it’ll be just as good as To Kill a Mockingbird.

Worst Bookish Habit:
I read rather slowly,but that’s because I wish to absorb everything a book has to offer.

X Mars the Spot:Start at the Top Left of Your Shelf and Pick the 27th Book:
Don’t Look Now and Other Stories by Daphne du Maurier.

Your Latest Book Purchase:
A Folio edition of Gogol’s stories.I got it at £12.50 and bought it today on eBay.

ZZZ-Snatcher Book: Last Book that Kept You Up Way Late:
Hmm,Quiet!

9 thoughts on “A-Z Bookish Survey Tag”

    1. Haha.
      Well,stay away from it! Unless you like huge novels with PLENTY of digressions.
      This novel made me sick; it just feels as if you’re in a freaking tunnel and you’re crawling,crawling but see no light!

    1. Oh,yes,The God of Small Things is very underrated in my opinion.People can never guess the potential of this book until they read it.For me,it is one of the best books I’ve ever read…

      As for Anna Karenina.Haha,my love for that book is just all over the blog.I can’t help but be passionate when writing something about it.If you’re aesthetically sensitive,then I’m sure you’ll like it. 🙂

    1. Thanks! 🙂

      Oh you should definitely read the Russians!! They wrote some of the best books of all time: Anna Karenina,Master and Margarita,Brothers Karamazov,etc.They are geniuses.I think you’ll love Master and Margarita! 🙂

Tell me what you think! :)

