Book Haul

This is not a book haul,per se.As I bought them from different sellers,the books reached me at different intervals.I don’t think I’m going to buy more books any time soon (I’m broke and must save money for a coffee machine),so why not take a look at all my purchases since my last book haul on this site?

I bought Susan Cain’s Quiet before the Christmas break,but didn’t get the occasion to tell you about it.I bought it,well,because I am quiet and think I might learn a great deal from reading it,especially at uni where most people expect you to talk to exist.

Then,whilst at home,I kept on checking for bargains on eBay.I saw a sealed Folio edition of All Quiet on the Western Front for £20.I remembered it got great reviews here on wordpress,so I went for it.Then,growing desperate with my wish list on the Folio Society site,I resolved to buy some of the books on it on the second-hand market.This is how I saw a mint In Cold Blood for £14,shipping included.It is widely known as the first non-fiction novel,and many deem it as essential a read as Breakfast at Tiffany’s.So I bought it.Afterwards I saw a perfect copy of The Golem on auction.I wanted this book for quite a long time,as John Sutherland recommended it last year,but I didn’t have enough money to buy it,having at that time chosen Kafka’s Metamorphosis&Other Stories and Master and Margarita.I waited for the very last minute to place my bid and in the end managed to snatch it from a another buyer.Shipping included,I paid less than £10 for it!! 🙂

I also came across The Name of the Rose on sale.I dismissed it as an ancient version of Da Vinci Code,but seeing a fellow blogger – Bookarino,check her site out! – reading it made me curious; I read reviews about it and learned about some of its content,and ultimately came to be interested in it.I bought it for £20.

Then,before I came back to university,some of my old relatives gave me £20 notes each.In the first week itself,I saw a superb,still sealed,edition of Hans Christian Andersen’s Complete Tales.The set is no longer available on the Folio site and tends to be in great demand among Folio Society members.I went for it,deeming it as a Birthday present to myself.Oh,and let me tell you that the set comprises everything Hans Andersen has ever written in his life.I’m really glad I own it,as his stories were a big part of my childhood.I bought it at £47,shipping included.

On the very same night,I found a set of Tolstoy’s collected stories.To be honest,I saw it around October; I adored Anna Karenina and was completely under the charm of Tolstoy’s writing,so I considered buying it,although I didn’t,because of the hefty price.Since October I miserably kept coming back to it to see if it was still here.But this time,still in the frenzy of having spent some money on a beautiful set,I did the same on the Tolstoy set.I managed not to pay the shipping,as my best offer – which didn’t include the shipping cost – was accepted.This too is a Birthday present to myself – I keep bringing up my birthday to console myself,lest you haven’t noticed this.I paid £61 for it.

Finally I had to buy some things on Amazon,and I just could not resist the temptation of throwing a book in the basket.I picked Bioy Casares’s Where There’s Love There’s Hate,as I heard so many good things about it.So far,it is not letting me down.
You can see the books below.As I’m not currently at home,I have to do with the shelves of my accommodation.So sorry,if the pics are not as great-looking. 🙂

DSC_1937 (2)

DSC_1947 (2)

DSC_1939 (2)

DSC_1941 (2)
The design on this slipcase is so Kitsch! Haha…

DSC_1944 (2)

DSC_1946

12 thoughts on “Book Haul”

  1. The cover of that Tolstoy edition is simply stunning – love the combination of moss green and gold. Also the font in the spine of The Name of the Rose is very appropriate! I, too, recently bought Susan Cain’s Quiet, so I’ll look forward to hearing your thoughts on it. Thanks for the shoutout!

    1. I like the three Tolstoys at the spines of each book,as they represent three important stages in his literary career! I’m really glad I got it.

      Susan Cain’s Quiet…I don’t know when I’ll read it.I guess I should find some time for it.I hope it’ll be very enlightening! Judging by the pace at which you read books,I’m sure you’ll read Quiet before I do!!

      And the shoutout is the least I could do. 🙂

    1. Thank you!! 🙂

      I like how the Tolstoy set looks on my shelf.My bookcase is just opposite my door,so when I get into my room,it’s the first thing I see! Having adored Anna Karenina,I really really wanted this set – I consider Tolstoy the greatest storyteller of all time.So I guess it’s a great birthday present to myself.
      I now need Tolstoy’s The Cossack and War&Peace to complete my collection.

      The Fairy Tales set is not bad either.I’ve read many of Hans Andersen’s stories when I was a child and I liked how not all of them had a good,cliched,ending.That’s why I spent such a sum on this rare set,which was still sealed.It comprises everything Andersen wrote in his life and besides it completes my collection of Fairy Tales – I already have the facsimiles of Perrault and the Grimm Brothers.

  2. I really should read In Cold Blood. I’ve read a lot of Hans Christian Andersen’s tales. The matchstick girl 😦 I’ve even seen the statue of him in Denmark

    1. Yep!
      In Cold Blood is the first non-fiction novel of all time,so it surely is an important read!
      And yes,the matchstick girl is really sad.It is unforgettable,really,as the last time I read it was when I was 10 or something.There is also the story of the Steadfast Tin Soldier…..which is just moving.

    1. Thanks!! 🙂
      I’m happy you like them.In June or thereabouts,there’ll be another Folio giveaway,and I’ll be sure to notify you about it!

Tell me what you think! :)

