Recommended Books I’ll Go Through This Year

Following my immense enjoyment of The Inheritance of Loss,a book which has been suggested to me numerous times before,I’ve made my mind to read mostly recommended books for the first half of 2015.When I read reviews,I always add the books to my wishlist,but more often than not,fail to actually read them; hopefully with this new quest of mine my TBR list will diminish significantly.

Below are the books which have been recommended to me the most.Some of them haven’t been recommended,but rather,were praised as a ‘must-read’ by the blogger.Actually some of them might recognize their suggestions here. 🙂

1.Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie

It seems that everybody who’s read this book has been left mesmerized.Salman Rushdie is a giant of post-modernism literature,so much so that literary experts have coined the term ‘Post-Rushdie generation’ – a generation whereby bloomed such talents as Arundhati Roy,Pankaj Mishra,or Kiran Desai.These authors are besides often referred to as ”Midnight’s Grandchildren”.Midnight’s Children is the Booker of Bookers,has influenced two of my favourite authors,and been suggested to me countless of times,so how can I not read it? I will most probably get through it in June when I’ll be on vacation.

2.Where There’s Love,There’s Hate – Adolfo Bioy Casares & Silvina Ocampo

It was whilst looking for reviews of The Invention of Morel that I came to know about Where There’s Love,There’s Hate.Many people,though acknowledging the beauty of The Invention of Morel,preferred Casares’ other book and urged me to consider reading it.I bought the book some days ago,and it reached me today.My only qualm is that it doesn’t have great reviews on goodreads….

3.The Little Prince – Antoine de Saint-Exupery

I know,I know.How come I haven’t read this book yet?! It’s in some way similar to Animal Farm and To Kill a Mockingbird in the sense that everybody assumes that you’ve already read it.I have it at home,in French.It belonged to my sister who studied it at an early stage in high school.I remember,as a kid,leafing the book without for one second suspecting that it might be one of the greatest books in children’s literature.A huge,huge favourite of bloggers.

4.Tess of the d’Ubbervilles – Thomas Hardy

Does the name ‘Jhumpa Lahiri’ ring a bell in you? At any rate,it should.She’s actually one of the world’s best authors – considering how many awards she garnered.Well,one of her favourite authors is none other than Thomas Hardy,and she once even stated that it was the only novel she wished she could have written.Here’s more of what she said about the book: ‘Arguably Hardy’s masterpiece, epic in scope, virtuosic in telling, shattering in effect. An indelible study of society, of human psychology, and of place. A book I re-read at every opportunity.’ Surprisingly popular with blogging,class-loving,bookworms.

5.Of Mice and Men – John Steinbeck

Bizarrely shortly after a friend recommended this book to me,praising it as one of the best books he’s ever read,I saw two bloggers lavishing similar praise on it,employing various superlatives in their bid to best describe the effect this book has had on them.I always dismissed Of Mice and Men as archaic and boring,always thinking that it’ll be about farming and deja-vu drama,but now I’m really curious as to what this little book – it has about 100 pages,if I’m not mistaken – can be well about.As is never enough said,’Do Not Judge a Book by its Cover’.

6.The Sense of an Ending – Julian Barnes

I have it in my room and have already gone through the first,say,fifteen pages.But I stopped.In fact I read it in a period of my life when I had no idea what I was doing apart from waking up and going to lectures.I read it very late at night and was half-asleep.In the end,I deemed it better to close it and read it at another time,as I was not doing the book – a Booker Prize winner – any justice.Now that I’m more settled,I’ll give it another go soon.Reviewed by quite a few bloggers here and is more or less popular.

7.All Quiet on the Western Front – Erich Maria Remarque

I saw it on the Folio Society site,but swiftly ignored it,as it revolves around the theme of war,which I thought was boring,following my experience with Hemingway’s A Farewell to Arms.But I saw two favourable reviews of this book on wordpress,and it occurred to me that I might have dismissed it too quickly.Besides,it got great ratings on goodreads; 3.8 for more than 150,000 users.That being said,I’m not that optimistic about that book.But let’s wait and see.

8.Master and Margarita – Mikhail Bulgakov

A really popular classic.I saw numerous bloggers counting this Russian novel among their all-time favourites.It looks really promising and the ratings on goodreads speak for themselves: 4.3 for a little more than 95,000 users!! I will definitely be reading it in June/July.

9.The Catcher in the Rye – J.D Salinger

I know: yet another must-read classic I’m still delaying the reading of.I was supposed to read it in 2013,but had so many other novels came my way.This time I aim to read it before I go back home.Also whilst I know it is hugely popular,I’m well aware that many people didn’t see why it is praised as a must-read,deeming it overrated as a result.I honestly have no idea which group I’ll be in upon finishing it.

That’s all the books I can think of.If you know a book that you think is a must-read,be it a classic,nominee/winner of a prestigious literary competition,or just a simpleton you found somewhere,don’t forget to please tell me about it!

14 thoughts on “Recommended Books I’ll Go Through This Year”

  1. Of Mice and Men was so spectacular, that as a non-reader in high school it was the only required reading that I happily read cover to cover! Catcher in the Rye I was not as much a fan of, but I know many people that truly loved it!

    1. I can’t wait to read Of Mice and Men! I thought it was boring,but apparently it’s not!
      Catcher in the Rye,given the number of mixed reviews I’ve stumbled upon,I don’t know if I’ll like it or not! But let’s hope for the best!
      Anyway thanks very much for commenting. 🙂
      It’s much appreciated.

    1. Haha,I’m glad you so love it.
      I feel I’m going to love it as well,as it’s Russian and pretty modern as well!
      Thanks for commenting! 😉

  2. I really disliked both Catcher in the Rye and Of Mice and Men; the latter feeling is from high school but the former I’ve read twice and could never understand why it’s popular. I’m sure it was because of its shock value at the time. In any case, I’m so interested to hear what you think of both.

    Master and Margarita and All Quiet on the Western Front are both wonderful, in different ways, of course. In any case, I hope you enjoy all the reads!

    1. Haha!
      Maybe Of Mice and Men requires a second reading,like Doctor Zhivago did? But anyway,one doesn’t have to like all popular classics; for instance,though I can see its beauty,I wasn’t particularly in awe of Hemingway’s The Old Man and the Sea!

      I’m expecting great things from Master and Margarita! Everybody absolutely loved it! 😮
      As for All Quiet on the Western Front,I wonder if I’ll be able to cope with the war them,which I fear might be boring.
      As always,thanks for commenting!! 🙂

  3. I’ve also been in the habit of adding to my wish list and then forgetting who recommended the book. Good luck with Rushdie. I’m afraid I didn’t care for it.

  4. Ignore Goodreads – Where There’s Love, There’s Hate is absolutely fabulous (as is The Master and Margarita, of course!)

    1. I was buying some things on Amazon and I told myself: ‘Why not buy a book along?’
      Then I went for Where There’s Love,There’s Hate,as I remember you told me how good the book is!!
      I’m currently at Page 20 and so far,it is really compelling! I hope it’ll remain so for the rest of the story! 🙂

    1. I will read The Sense of an Ending very soon.Maybe when I finish my current book!
      I’m having big hopes for Midnight’s Children,since it was voted the Booker of Bookers! 😮
      Let’s hope it’ll live up to its reputation.
      As always,thanks for commenting!

  5. I really enjoyed seeing your list! There are quite a few books here I highly enjoyed (The Little Prince, Of Mice and Men, and Catcher in the Rye) so it’d be great to see what you think of them too. I have All Quiet on the Western Front & The Master and the Margarita on my to-read list as well, as I’ve heard many good things about them.

Tell me what you think! :)

