Free Folio Society Book for Christmas!

To be guaranteed to receive your Folio Society books before Christmas,you have to place your order by 1st December,irrespective of where you live.It’s a pretty good thing that the company has had a thought for customers from faraway countries – like me.

Despite my disillusionment,I’m going ahead with a plan I had in my mind for quite a while: I wish to give away a book in Folio edition for Christmas.This year has been pretty special and this blog has helped me in a myriad of ways.Writing reviews and articles has been a form of escapism for me,and I’ve also met some really wonderful people.So to celebrate Christmas on this blog,I’ve decided to give one of you a new Folio Society.Those who read my posts quite often know how much I’m fond of these books,so I think a Folio book is a fitting prize for my first giveaway on this blog.The winner will get to choose one of the following Folio books:

  • Never Let Me Go – Kazuo Ishiguro
  • Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad
  • The Hitchhiker’s Guide to Galaxy – Douglas Adams
  • Breakfast at Tiffany’s – Truman Capote
  • Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
  • Fahrenheit 451 – Ray Bradbury
  • Lord of the Flies – William Golding
  • The Trial – Franz Kafka
  • Slaughterhouse-Five – Kurt Vonnegut
  • A Clockwork Orange – Anthony Burgess (Recently Added)
  • The Great Gatsby – F.Scott Fitzgerald (Recently Added)
  • Wuthering Heights – Emily Bronte (Recently Added)

The rules are pretty simple:

  • Just leave a comment. (and state what book you want).
  • The draw will take place on random.org which provides a random generator.The person will be allocated a number depending on the order of the comments: if he commented first,he’ll be assigned number 1.
  • The giveaway starts now and ends on 29th November. (At midnight in the United Kingdom)
  • You can enter the giveaway no matter where you live.
  • If I get less than 15 people,the giveaway will be cancelled; it doesn’t make any sense to host a giveaway with few people,especially with such a prize as a Folio book.

Did I mention the giveaway will be totally FREE? You can keep your precious little 50p this time. 🙂

26 thoughts on “Free Folio Society Book for Christmas!”

  1. A great collection. I’ve read quite a few of these. Never Let Me Go – Kazuo Ishiguro or The Trial – Franz Kafka would be perfect if I am lucky enough to win.

    1. You’re welcome!!
      Your choice has been noted!! (Breakfast at Tiffany’s sure looks great in Folio!!)
      You’re number 3! I wish you all the best! 😉

  2. Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy =) I had a copy but someone borrowed it and never gave it back to me.
    Ps. It’s nice to be able to enter a giveaway- often they’re closed for international entries, so I don’t look at them. So thank you for your kindness =)

    1. Ha,just wait till you see the Folio edition of the book.
      They have added blue sparkles onto the book,making the cover look like a sort of galaxy! If you’re a fan of the book and if you don’t win the giveaway,you should check the Folio edition out.You won’t be disappointed,I swear.

      And yep! I wanted to host a giveaway whereby everybody could enter!! It’s Xmas,after all! 😀
      And you’ve been assigned number 4 for the draw! Good luck!!

  3. Lovely giveaway! If I win I would like The Trial – a great book and would be nice to re-read in a fancy edition!

  4. I own 7 of the 9 titles, so I think I’m going to let someone else win one of these lovely books this time. But I wanted to let you know that I’ve linked your giveaway to one of my Goodreads groups, so hopefully you’ll get some more entries. Ho, ho, ho! 🙂

    1. Haha,thanks! You can still pick choose one of the two you don’t own though.But you decide!
      By the way,I just re-read my comment and I’m not sure what I meant by ‘incremental’ – guess I’m having too much maths these days! 🙂

    1. Okay! You’re number 7 for the draw!
      I have the edition at home and it sure looks really,really good!
      It really exceeded my expectations,so much so that I sent a word to the Folio Society! 😉
      Good luck!

    1. Noted! 🙂
      The illustrations are mind blowing and were among the many reasons leading me to become a member of the Society.
      You’ve been given number 8 for the draw! I wish you all the best! 😉

  5. Thank you for letting me know about this giveaway! All of them are gorgeous, so it took a while to pick which one I wanted the most. Kafka’s The Trial won me over.

    1. Fine!! 😀
      Kafka,what a choice! I thought you’d choose another book.
      But seriously,The Trial is deeply moving and disturbing!! And I bet you’ll find some meaning in the story! Great choice! 🙂
      And the illustrations are really in keeping with the atmosphere of the book!!

      You’re number 11 for the draw!! I wish you good luck!! 😀

  6. That is very generous of you. Before I bought my house, I used to love my pre-Christmas mailing of Folio books….but that was many years ago. FS books had to go to pay the mortgage…

    If I’m lucky enough to win I would love Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

    Thank you for this chance 🙂
    I’m so glad I found you via the Classics Club.

    Merry Christmas

      1. Don’t you worry!
        I’ll contact you next time there’s a giveaway! 😀
        (around July or something for a Folio book and around February and March for a book from another publisher!)

Tell me what you think! :)

