Want to know how life is on campus?

I’ll try to post as per my usual pace from now on.It has been a long week,perhaps the longest and hardest in my life,but for the sake of my dreams,I cannot let these obstacles I’ve come across get over me.If need be,I’ll seek help.

During the week-end before I reached university I was really dazzled by London.I had been there before when I was a kid and obviously forgot mostly everything I saw,so it was like a wholly new experience to visit such a lovely and busy capital again.An altercation between a member of the EDL – which was holding a demonstration before the Prime Minister’s Office – and a civilian was perhaps the only smudge on my memories of my days there.

My Dad accompanied me to the university for the first week – well,he stayed in a ‘lodge’ at Canterbury.He wanted some vacations and also wished to show me the procedures that one goes through when boarding a plane.I quickly caught a cold as the weather in England,although it is not winter yet,is a far cry from that in Mauritius.Also as said in my previous post,it was hard to get some good reading on the first days as the guys were partying till late in the night.

On my first night at university,I was invited to a drinking game.Once I understood the rules of that game,which was hard to do,I saw it as very ridiculous.If you know that game,then yes,the pigs were drunk and drinking some bizarre mixture (including chilly and Pringles) literally like dogs – there is a rule which states that you should drink only with your mouth and without your hands.Also the kitchen was teeming with people from other parts of the campus.I don’t drink and am far from being a party animal,so I had a hard time there.Besides nobody was getting my name right.

On the second day,there was another party,but (luckily) I was not invited.They probably understood that I was not of their kind.At three o’clock in the morning however,I was awakened by a terrible ringing noise which was none other emitted by the fire alarm.Security guards started banging on our doors and everybody from the block had to gather outside in the cold immediately.The guards took a while to find the cause of the incident,so we shivered in our pyjamas,waiting.It turned out that a stupid girl had left her hairdryer switched on in the kitchen! (Can you believe this?)

Day Four.A Bangladeshi joined our corridor.Others apparently told him how I was,as he came knocking at my door and told me to come in the kitchen more often.That day was pretty cool as I received my second-hand Folio books in fine condition! I went to the kitchen in an attempt to chat with my neighbours and was disappointed to see one of them already drunk.I finally got to see all my neighbours together and was quiet surprised to see that all of them,minus the Bangladeshi who was absent,are British – one is Welsh.They asked me some questions and were shocked when I told them I had no girlfriend,as I have other priorities.When I stated that if a girl in my country sleeps around before being 18,people will inevitably call her names.This further baffled them and one even asked if there were ‘arranged marriages’ where I live! I also started chatting with a rather cool guy who was much interested in Mauritius and the culture.And yes,they were all very unimpressed when I said I read a lot.

Day Five.I came to the kitchen at night and was told that the Bangladeshi’s food was partly eaten and then dumped by someone presumably from outside.I was annoyed because parties were not supposed to be held in that kitchen – which only the 8 of us could access – but surprisingly the new guy didn’t mind much.At the moment I’m typing,he is probably drunk and shouting how much he loves UK somewhere on the campus; yeah,he too is a party animal.

Day Six.They again made noise at night.I was disgusted by their disrespect shown to those who were in their rooms (apparently me alone).They set up a Ping Pong table on the corridor and the balls were irritatingly knocking at my walls.The rule of this game is that you drink a tall beer every time you lose….

Day Seven.At night,all the idiots went to a ball and returned at three or four in the morning.They were drunk as hell and I heard people having to carry their friends – they could not walk properly and bumped on the doors.The girls were also crazy and a heavy footed one was running and screaming,”I want you to fuck me in the vagina.” My sleep came to an abrupt end and my right eye is still hurting as a result.

Day Eight.Today.They are all seemingly tired and none is going out tonight.I was in the kitchen today to socialize,but they barely spoke to me.I tried to start some silly conversations with them,but as I’m not good at that,it was to no avail.I was particularly annoyed when a girl who was packing her ”Chilli Con Carne” told me that the food was for her boyfriend who was coming (again) on Wednesday and maybe another time I would taste it. ”Not this one though”,she said,thinking I was eyeing her food.

All in all,I’m disgusted I have locals as neighbors.They are truly despicable and ill-mannered,which I didn’t expect,as the British people outside are disciplined and lovely.These kids take education for granted as they benefit from unearned allowances which make them easily go to a university – they are living the dream of many people around the world.I was quite disheartened to see that they picked a course randomly just to have some years without their parents.But what shocked me most was their ill-manners.Licking a strainer after using it, belching like a pig and laughing afterwards,drinking directly from the bottle of Pepsi and then putting it back after on the table,are some of the many things which irritated me.Whatever happened to UK’s youth I wonder.They have no ambition and seem more interested in partying like crazy and acting married with their boyfriends…. (I better not start with the boys)

I guess I will forever be grateful to my parents for spending their money on a meal plan that ensures that I will have lunch and dinner from the university’s countless shops.Oh,I know I must have offended some British people,but the youth is as it is,and I won’t say otherwise.Mothers and mothers-to-be,please see that you inculcate the proper manners to your kids,for one day their actions will coincide with others’ lives; show your kids some respect and self-respect,some manners,and some table etiquettes.

I never thought that my principles in my life – that of not drinking,smoking,or partying like a pig – would one day alienate me from others.But oh well,Nieztsche,who died more than a century ago,once said:

The individual has always had to struggle to keep from being overwhelmed by the tribe. If you try it, you will be lonely often, and sometimes frightened. But no price is too high to pay for the privilege of owning yourself.

18 thoughts on “Want to know how life is on campus?”

    1. Oh,I’m sure that there are some great people in the UK!
      The people at the Income Office and elsewhere were great and helpful,but the youth…
      As a matter of fact,google ‘student of University of Kent stuck on tree’ and you’ll quite a few articles! What annoys me is that this is shrugged as something normal by many people… >.>’
      I got myself a little alienated in the corridor,as a result of not partying or drinking or smoking.Everyone,except me,forms a family on that corridor…
      But it doesn’t bother as it used to in the earlier days.I got somehow used to it.
      Thanks for the email by the way.I didn’t bother replying as I thought you would find everything you needed to know in this post! 😉

  1. Ah, I hear that the first week is always the hardest (craziest, I mean)…but seriously, you’ve roomed with a bunch of wild animals! Who knows? They ‘might’ not seem so bad a few semesters down the line… Maybe.

    1. Ah….yeah it was very crazy.
      They did calm down in the second week,but I’m paying the price for not partying in the fresher’s week: they’ve sort of left me out and don’t really talk me.
      But oh well,what will be will be….

  2. That’s really disappointing to hear. I’ve heard that when people from other countries come to live or visit in western-type countries that they are appalled by the lack of manners and respect they find. I met a Chinese lady once who was shocked at the way we celebrate birthday parties for children. The fact that we have a party, the birthday person gets tons of gifts (of which they don’t need, and they just rip the wrapping off, toss the gift aside, and go on to the next) was horrifying for her. She said in China the child will have his mother bake a cake and then take it to school to share with his friends. The child learns to give instead of get. When I hear things like this, it really allows me see my country through other eyes and the picture I get is often disappointing.

    I hope you meet some like-minded people soon. They must be out there somewhere!

    1. Oh,I never thought you were English.I always thought you lived in America instead!
      I must say that yeah,I was very disappointed with some people’s lack of manners.They can walk on your bag without even saying sorry or enter a lift before you didn’t even get out.But I try to forget these people.Just because of 99 ill-mannered individuals,I cannot be moody or something with that 1 nice person.

      So far I haven’t find like-minded people.I don’t think I ever will.But that’s alright.I have a wordpress where I can find them – you included! 😉

      1. I’m actually from Canada, but I’m still surprised at how ill-mannered we can be. Perhaps it’s emphasized because I live near a large city. I think I need to move to a smaller town, where people are less stressed and more friendly.

        Thanks for the nice words! I do hope that your situation will begin to improve and that you can find some things/people that will make your experience pleasurable and enriching. Take care!

  3. Yay for posting once a week from now on!
    You can overcome anything, what doesn’t kill you makes you stronger!

    😀 😀 😀 Where on earth did you find so many party animals in one place every day 😄
    Though people are pretty similar in whatever place you go, especially universities/colleges/higher education places.If every person from Mauritius is like you then it’s a lovely place.

    .Oh,I know I must have offended some British people,but the youth is as it is,and I won’t say otherwise.Mothers and mothers-to-be,please see that you inculcate the proper manners to your kids,for one day their actions will coincide with others’ lives; show your kids some respect and self-respect,some manners,and some table etiquettes.

    I never thought that my principles in my life – that of not drinking,smoking,or partying like a pig – would one day alienate me from others.But oh well,Nieztsche,who died more than a century ago,once said:

    1. I meant to continue…but then I must have pressed the enter button located way too close to other letters o.O Anyways, your last couple sentences, that’s just how youth is nowadays I think. Seldom you encounter really well-mannered people. Moreover, I guess some are just born as old souls

      1. Haha,I guess it’s because they’re all locals.They didn’t need any time to adapt to the culture…
        And nope,every Mauritian is not like me.I turned out the way I did because of my own choice.If you go to my country,people will have no idea who Tolstoy or Dostoevsky were!
        Sadly it seems that good manners are things from the past.Ill mannered individuals are so common that I don’t bother about them anymore – and that’s sad really.

  4. Sorry to hear you’re not having a great experience so far. The first week of uni is known as “freshers week” and it tends to be a little rowdier than the rest of the time until classes kick in and hormone-filled 18 year olds calm down. If you’re still having problems perhaps you could request a move and let the university know that your lifestyle is very different to those you’re currently living with? You’re very mature for your age and younger people don’t always appreciate that, I’ve been in the same position myself (though I do drink and whatnot, so can’t claim complete innocence!). Part of me wants to defend the youth in the UK, there are great people out there, but unfortunately I will also have to admit that many are immature and do lack manners. It seems to be a generation thing. All hope isn’t lost yet though, hang in there.

    1. I’m trying to settle in…

      As days go by,I’m getting more and more used to the buildings,the weather,the lectures and the people.
      As for my neighbours,they calmed quite a bit since the freshers’ week although they can be crazy on any day of the week; last Thursday they came back at 2 A:M and were so drunk that they started playing piano all of a sudden until somebody asked them to stop.

      The fact that they are party animals does not trouble me.It’s rather their carelessness and lack of concern for others that bother me; they put their feet where people will sit,belch and laugh (without saying sorry?!),etc…
      I think in that respect I was pretty disappointed; I expected UK youngsters to be more well-mannered,seeing how perfectly organized everything is in this country. I also noted that not drinking makes you someone ‘unusual’ or ‘bizarre’.

      1. We definitely have a “drink culture” (it’s worse in Ireland, where I’m from), when you say you don’t drink, the first response is usually “why not?”

        Hopefully things get a little better for you, more adults would probably have manners I’d say. At 18, you’re still quite young/immature with little life experience, and this is probably the first taste of freedom for these kids, like I say, some of us are just more mature and mannered than others, but they should settle down.

  5. I totally fathom your frustration! I haven’t gone to university yet but high schools in America are exactly the same, and was a culture-shock for Asian like me. They were disrespectful to the teacher, talk loudly and disrupting people who were trying to study, and copy other people’s homework when they fail to do theirs. If it was in my old country, they would be kicked out of class right away.

    1. I’m glad you can relate! 🙂
      I think that people with an Asiatic culture (I say this because though not Asians,we mostly live by it in our country) will inevitably be struck and possibly appalled by the stark contrast there is between their way of living and that of the West!

  6. I feel your pain! I had the same experience when I went to University in England after growing up in Venezuela and Trinida., I was really surprised and disappointed by the people I met and of course it was hard at the beginning, the English people seemed to have no interest in anyone who was remotely different to them. Look out for the international students and you will find more understanding and friendliness, also Couchsurfing.org is a great way to meet people and make cool friends! Hang in there, hope it gets better soon 😉

    1. You seem to know exactly what I’m going through.
      I constantly disappointed with the English people.In my country,people tend to praise the British so much,but the reality is so contrasting….
      Yep.My neighbours are very cold and don’t even think how it must be in my place.But I don’t mind; I won’t change for them…

      Little by little,I’m starting to befriend international students and yes,they are more understanding and you can actually relate to them…

      I’ll check Couchsurfing.org ! It sounds cools and intriguing.
      And one last thing,I absolutely love your blog.It’s almost as if you know what my tastes! It’s just so rare to find such abstract posts on the net.Haha,every time I explore your blog,I’m thoroughly stunned.It’s impressive how it keeps fascinating over such a long time!! The fact that you come from Venezuela (or Trinidad) just shows that art knows no bounds! I’m really impressed.Keep up the good work!

Tell me what you think! :)

