Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I Would Want With Me on a Deserted Island

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and The Bookish.This week’s prompt is to list ten characters we would like to have by our side on a deserted island.We can pick them based on any factor – company or skills,for example.

Skills:

1.Ralph – Lord of the Flies
Of course! Who cannot pick him after reading Lord of the Flies?! He is a very responsible guy who has only one thing in his mind: get off the island at all costs!

2.Jack – Lord of the Flies
Jack is always eager to chase some pigs,chickens,or whatever.He just doesn’t like being bossed around.

3.Atticus Finch – To Kill a Mockingbird 
Atticus can uphold a certain cohesion in the group with his wise words.He is also an excellent shooter – according to Miss Maudie,Atticus was ”the deadest shot in Maycomb at his time”,which earned him the nickname of ”Ol’ One-Shot” – and he will be of great help to keep creatures of the night away from us.

4.Robinson Crusoe – Robinson Crusoe
When in doubt as to how to survive on a deserted island,call Robinson!

Company: 

5.Hamlet – The Tragedy of Hamlet
It will be great fun to hear Hamlet reflect on being lost on a stranded island.He might even wonder if it is better to go against the course of fate by wishing to go back home ; ”Whether ’tis nobler in the mind to suffer / The slings and arrows of outrageous fortune / Or to take arms against a sea of troubles / And by opposing end them.”

6.Lord Henry Wooton – The Picture of Dorian Gray 
He is Wilde’s wittiness personified,and one of my favourite characters.It’ll be interesting to see how he will deal with Hamlet.

7.Nick Carraway – The Great Gatsby
So that after we get off the island,he writes a superb account of our boldness in a poetical and magical language; The Great Survivors – or something like that.

8.Anna Karenina – Anna Karenina
Every time Tolstoy described her in a scene,readers couldn’t help falling in love with her.I would like to see her in person.She is presumably the most beautiful woman in literature. 🙂

9.Tintin – The Adventure of Tintin
There always is an exciting adventure befalling Tintin wherever he is.It’ll be great to follow him for real this time!

10.Thomson and Thompson – The Adventures of Tintin
And,however unlikely,we always meet these two wherever Tintin’s adventure has led him to! And they are among the funniest characters I know!

11 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Characters I Would Want With Me on a Deserted Island”

  1. I don’t know about Jack. He can be a sadistic little autocrat. Maybe Atticus could keep in line. I rather have Katniss with her skills and compassion.

    1. Haha,indeed! Jack would be a problem,but he is a very good hunter and we would never suffer from lack of food!
      And Atticus would make sure he will not go berserk! 😉

      As for Katniss,I haven’t read Hunger Games! :/
      So I don’t much about her!

      1. Not even watched the movies?!? Gotta get caught up–you will be thrilled that. Y now you won’t be 25 on the hold list. Then again, maybe still…

  2. I can see why you might want to hear about Hamlet being… Hamlet but man, I feel like if I had to hear him constantly think and ponder when we’re trying to get off said island–I’m sure we’d be going no where with his help. Plus, I think the kid has had too many (still likely on-going) existential crises to even experience a tinge of fun being on an island.

    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

  3. Henry Wooton! One of the most charismatic characters in a book. I love reading about him! I’m not sure I would want to like him in real life but I am sure I would end up being charmed, despite my better judgement.
    Thomson and Thompson would be great! Real fun!

    1. Haha,I feel almost guilty for liking him!
      But at least nobody would be bored on the island with him. 😉

      I’m also glad you like Thompson and Thomson like I do! 😀
      Thanks for stopping by! 😉

Tell me what you think! :)

