Book Haul

I bought some books in late May and mid-June,but it was only yesterday that I got the last of my orders.The bookdepository was unusually late and the guys at the post office,as lethargic as ever,took all their time to send me the pink card each time there was something to fetch.

Well,here are the books I bought:

1.Breakfast at Tiffany’s – Truman Capote
2.The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
3.Slaughterhouse Five – Kurt Vonnegut
4.Metamorphosis and Other Stories – Franz Kafka
5.The Master and Margarita – Mikhail Bulgakov
6.Labyrinths – Jorge Luis Borges
7.Myth of Sisyphus – Albert Camus
8.Waiting for Godot – Samuel Beckett

The first three were available at 50% and 52% (thanks to a never-ending and,I think, bugged electronic voucher) so I thought it was bargain to buy them at that price! On average they cost me something like Rs 800 each. ( $23).

The discounts on Metamorphosis and Master and Margarita weren’t that great,but I wanted and needed the former while the latter seems to be a must-read Russian masterpiece.

As for the paperbacks,I wanted to read some books which would make me think,think,and think.They also focus on existentialism,a philosophy I’m much interested in.

DSC_1001
You can click for better resolution!

DSC_1005

I have to say this cover for Waiting for Godot does not appeal to me at all,but there wasn’t a nicer edition of the book.Sadly.

And my Kafka collection is complete!Finally!

DSC_1012

12 thoughts on “Book Haul”

  1. Whew! What a collection! The complete Kafka looks very cute. Also, are post office people lethargic in your country? I thought it was only here!

    1. Oh yeah,they are not only lethargic,but they are highly bureaucratic.I think they would be Kafka’s nightmare!
      The other day my father went to the post office to fetch my parcel.He was handed three of my Folio books.
      About one week later,he went back to fetch another parcel of mine.They told him that,instead of my Folios,it was my paperbacks that he was supposed to collect the other day! The Folios,they said,should only have been given now.They apologised.

      It is clear that they had both my paperbacks and Folios together,so why didn’t they give it to my father the first time he went to fetch my parcels? Just to suit their care-free working style,they can make someone come to the post office countless times,when they can very well save him some time! -_-

  2. Wait, are the Folio books from Folio Society? If so, I’m very jealous! I love to admire books on Folio Society, but since they’re way beyond what I could afford. I’m eyeing that hardcover of Breakfast at Tiffany’s too~ Great haul!

    1. Haha,yep! 🙂
      They are not the most affordable of books,so I normally wait for the sales!
      Thanks to saving my money like crazy,I have quite a collection at home – 34 to be exact.

      Beyond their incredible designs and illustrations,the Folio books are really little gems.The paper is very white,and they are ultra resistant.Unless you’re a brutal reader,the book can stay in a pristine condition forever.The binding also makes it possible to open the book completely without fearing that it might get creases.

      I got Breakfast at Tiffany’s at 50% or something,thanks to a voucher and to a mini-sale – only the 20 Folio books selected by an author,illustrator,translator and editor were discounted at 20%.It is a rather newly-published book,so I doubt it will go on sale again any time soon.You might have to wait for some time.. (But I will let you know if I see it discounted!)
      However the Folio Society is currently holding an incredible summer sale! You can take a look at it if you want to find some bargains! 🙂

      1. 34 Folio Books?? Are you kidding me? That’s amazing~ I actually can’t purchased anything online anyway because my Thai bank doesn’t allow me to do so. But I’m still dreaming of it for another day! I have a pretty long wishlist for Folio books. I’ll be on the lookout for more of their sales, though! Thanks for the info!

    1. I have read all his three novels,and just have his short stories left.
      His short stories are like a box of chocolate.You can read them whenever you want to.

      As for the novels,I would suggest you go from his first to his last,that is,from Amerika to The Castle.In so doing you really note the drastic evolution of Kafka’s genius and hatred for bureaucracy!
      Note that Kafka’s book are all incomplete,so you will have to bear with that.However I think that such incompleteness adds a certain charm to his works.And remember, Kafka grows on you.His novels make more sense when, after reading them,you go back to living your life. 🙂
      I hope you’ll like them.My favourite is The Trial,although many prefer and adore The Castle!

  3. Wow! What fantastic Folio editions! *** drool *** I managed to get The Empires of the Ancient Near East series and The Story of the Middle Ages series for about $45 each. However my Lord of the Rings series I was able to purchase for $30, which I thought was pretty good.

    I’ll have to keep a closer eye on your bookshelves! 😉

    1. I had the Empires set as my introductory offer when I joined the FS last year!
      You got the LotR set at a bargain price!

      Oh,yes,do keep an eye,as I once in a while have a book haul,in which there must be at least 1,2 Folio book! 😉

Tell me what you think! :)

