Top 10 Classics I Want to Read

This week’s Top Ten Tuesday prompt is to make any list about classics,so I’ve decided to make one about the ten classics I most want to read.

1.Catch 22 – Joseph Heller

I really want to buy this book in Folio edition,but the actual discount is not much.Sadly.However sooner or later I will have it.It is a must read for me,for the exact reason on the above cover.It is besides one of the most popular classics,so I don’t think it is a heavy book in terms of language and plot.

2.Metamorphosis and Other Stories – Franz Kafka

The Folio edition reached home today.Having read all his novels,I now want to read Kafka’s short stories,for which,I believe,he is best known.Kafka never fails to stun me,and reading this collection will be a delightful journey in the absurd.

3.One Hundred Years of Solitude – Gabriel Garcia Marquez

It is not so much the number of rave reviews it received as the words people employ to describe it that make me want to read this book: ‘magical’,’unforgettable’ ,’mesmerizing’.

4.The Myth of Sisyphus – Albert Camus

I’m eager to know what is in this essay.Camus was a genius for using a mythological figure to introduce his philosophy of the absurd and illustrate man’s struggle in relation to meaning in life.I have besides leafed the book and the French is sublime! I can’t wait to read it!

5.The Master and Margarita – Mikhail Bulgakov

I have paid little attention to this book until it was recommended by John Sutherland.It was only then that I learned that it is a much loved classic,with an average rating of 4.3 for nearly 86,000 users on godreads.The plot focusing on the Devil and its cat is very,very intriguing.I know I will love it.

6.The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood

I want it in Folio Society edition,but it has not yet been discounted.I wonder if it ever will.The blurb for this book makes me want to know more about the story and since it is often cited among people’s favourites,I am expecting much from it.Also I want to finally read something from Margaret Atwood,whom people regard as one of the best living authors.

7.Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov

Oddly enough,I think I have heard only good things said about this one.Apparently Nabokov’s writing style is the highlight of this book,and I’m interested to know why.Additionally I also want to know how the author will explore such a delicate subject.

8.Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert

This is yet another book which,I noticed,is the favourite of many.Moreover Flaubert is often mentioned in the same breath as Oscar Wilde,and since I’m a huge fan of the latter,I am expecting to be charmed by Flaubert’s seemingly witty Madame Bovary.I will read it in French.

9.The Brothers Karamazov – Fyodor Dostoevsky

Along with Anna Karenina,The Brothers Karamazov is often regarded as the best novel ever written.I was not particularly amazed by Crime and Punishment,but even so,I wish to read Brothers Karamazov,as its plot is more intriguing and gripping.I hope that,just like Anna Karenina,it will live up to its reputation.

10.A Clockwork Orange – Anthony Burgess

This is a late addition to my wish list.When I informed some Folio Society members on a forum that this book was going to be published,they started ”talking” in a weird language which is apparently endemic to this book.Additionally I have noticed something rather rare with A Clockwork Orange: both the book and the movie are cult classics.I am thus very curious as to what to expect from Burgess’ novel.

20 thoughts on “Top 10 Classics I Want to Read”

    1. I think Kafka’s stories are not meant to be beautiful,but rather peculiar.
      He excels in the absurd,yet everything he writes holds some sense! As John Sutherland once said,”Kafka grows on you.” You should give him a second chance! 😉

      1. I have read “hunger artist” by kafka and actually enjoyed that. It’s just metamorphosis, which I guess is widely considered his best work, was a bit of a disappointment for me. But you’re right, I should look into more of his works 🙂

  1. I also want to read Catch-22 and The Handmaid’s Tale. I had a friend who just finished the Handmaid’s Tale and she said it ranked as one of her top 10 favorite books of all time, so it should be good!

  2. I think you will like The Handmaid’s Tale. I’m with you on One Hundred Years of Solitude. I can’t believe I haven’t read it yet.

    1. Judging by the numerous prizes it won and was nominated for,I gather that it must be a really,really good book.I can’t wait to lay my hand on a copy!
      As for One Hundred Years of Solitude,I think it’ll an unforgettable read,especially because people have showered praises on it,despite its size!

    1. Oh,yeah,the blurb seems to indicate that the story takes place in some sort of dystopia.
      Although I haven’t read any of her books,I gather that Atwood must have wonderfully described the chilling setting! I can’t wait to read it! 🙂

      1. Oh, it’s definitely dystopian. And yes, Atwood describes things wonderfully, which seems to be a real strength in her writing. Definitely pick it up when you have a chance!

  3. Like many other speculative fiction-esqe novels of their time, I think what Handmaid offers is strikingly (and possibly eerily) close to what could (and maybe has) come of societies/religions/what-have-you today integrating Atwood’s knack for everything feminism. I’ve read into both love/hate comments for it so I do hope that you enjoy it! It was only okay for me since I read it in high school so I probably was bogged down but the gritty details but if that’s your dabble in anything Atwood, it’s a good starting point I’d say.
    Cheers,
    joey via. thoughts and afterthoughts

Tell me what you think! :)

