Joining the Classics Club

I’ve finally decided to join the Classics Club.Even if I have already read quite a few classics, it will be interesting to take on the rest as part of a challenge for the group.

Here are the other 50 classics I plan on reading in the years to come:

  1. Possession – A.S Byatt
  2. Labyrinths – Jorge Luis Borges 
  3. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
  4. 100 Years of Solitude – Gabriel García Márquez
  5. The Prince – Niccolo Machiavelli
  6. The Brothers Karamazov – Fyodor Dostoevsky
  7. Justine – Lawrence Durrell
  8. Good Behaviour – Molly Keane
  9. As I Lay Dying – William Faulkner
  10. Disgrace – J.M.Coetzee
  11. The Outsider – Albert Camus
  12. The Sea,the sea – Iris Murdoch
  13. Oscar and Lucinda – Peter Carey
  14. Catch 22 – Joseph Heller
  15. The Handmaid’s Tale – Margaret Atwood
  16.  Metamorphosis and Other Stories – Franz Kafka
  17. The Remains of the Day – Kazuo Ishiguro
  18. The Catcher in the Rye – Joseph Salinger
  19. The Sound and the Fury – William Faulkner
  20. 1984 – George Orwell
  21. The Old Man and the Sea – Ernest Hemingway
  22. Lolita – Vladimir Nabokov
  23. The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath
  24. Short Stories – Anton Chekhov
  25. Don Quixote – Miguel de Cervantes
  26. On The Road – Jack Kerouac
  27. Siddharta – Herman Hesse
  28. Madame Bovary – Gustave Flaubert
  29. In Search of Lost Time – Marcel Proust
  30. Fear and Trembling – Søren Kierkegaard
  31. Things Fall Apart – Chinua Achebe 
  32. Heart of Darkness – Joseph Conrad
  33. The Myth of Sisyphus – Albert Camus
  34. The Plague – Albert Camus
  35. Thus Spoke Zarathustra – Friedrich Nietzsche
  36. Lady Chatterley’s Lover – D.H.Lawrence
  37. The Tree Musketeers – Alexandre Dumas
  38. Waiting for Godot – Samuel Beckett  (Currently Reading)
  39. Sons and Lovers – D.H Lawrence
  40. War & Peace – Leo Tolstoy
  41. Pride and Prejudice – Jane Austen
  42. Slaughterhouse Five – Kurt Vonnegut
  43. The Master and Margarita – Mikhail Bulgakov
  44. Breakfast at Tiffany’s – Truman Capote
  45. A Good Man is Hard to Find – Flannery O’Connor
  46. Le Petit Prince – Antoine de Saint-Exupery
  47. Cloudstreet – Tim Winton
  48. For Whom the Bell Tolls – Ernest Hemingway
  49. Cat’s Craddle – Kurt Vonnegut
  50. Lanark – Alasdair Gray

This is only my list regarding classics.For my wholesome list comprising every book I have read and want to read, click here.

11 thoughts on “Joining the Classics Club”

    1. Haha,I knew you would notice this! 😀

      In fact,given that I could only list books I have not yet read,I was having a sort of mind-block as to which 50 classics I should add.

      If the very classical Pride&Prejudice and As I Lay Dying immediately sprung to mind, I had on the other hand some difficulty in remembering other lesser known classics which I planned on reading.It was only after glancing at my wish lists at the bookdepository and goodreads that I refreshed my mind and added Cat’s Cradle,Lanark,and Le Petit Prince!
      And the books are not listed in any order of preference; I’m more looking forward to reading Cat’s Cradle,Handmaid’s Tale,Lanark,etc than Thus Spoke Zarathustra, Heart of Darkness and Pride & Prejudice! 😉

  1. What a fun, eclectic list! I really enjoyed Kerouac’s Dharma Bums and I’m looking forward to reading more of his works. I’ve also had a desire to get into Camus’ works …… So many great ones on your list!

    Glad to have found your blog and another Classics Club challenge-taker!

    1. Thank you! 🙂
      I didn’t want to include the usual Dickens and Brontes.I wanted to give a chance to the lesser known classics such as The Master and Margarita which received rave reviews and Camus’s other works! 🙂

      I too am really happy to stumble upon someone who read classics! It’s pretty rare,to be honest! 🙂
      Now I just have to remember your blog well,as,since you’re on blogspot,I have no way to follow you!

Tell me what you think! :)

