Never Let Me Go

Never Let Me Go 1
Photo is mine.It’s better when you click on it!

How I got the book: A friend of mine,a fanatic of the Booker Prize,was incessantly talking about this book,saying that it was Ishiguro’s best work and that I needed to read it as soon as possible.I remember him even putting a ‘ 😥 ‘ shortly after telling me that he has read the book for the second time.When I joined the Folio society last year,upon seeing Never Let Me Go on their site,I understood that it must be one great book to be there and I instantly added it to my wish-list.But…the book never got discounted – yep,I mostly buy discounted books – and I chose to wait until it was so.A peripeteias  was soon to follow,as for the renewal of my membership at the Folio Society,I had to buy 4 full priced books and I would get one free.For that occasion only,I chose to forget my flat wallet and went for the four books that would me make happy.Naturally Never Let Me Go was among them.I had some regrets shortly after,as for the next sale it was finally discounted!! But now that I’ve read it,I don’t care how much I paid for it; it definitely is worth its price.I might even buy a second copy to bring with me at university.

As I said,I bought it last year,in October to be exact,but did not read it until last week,as I had to finish many other books first.Besides being shortlisted for the Booker Prize 2005,Never Let Me Go received rave reviews by bloggers all over wordpress,so I expected it would be a great read.What I did not expect though was the unique world set and explored by Kazuo Ishiguro.To be honest I thought it was some love story which would turn out to be poignant at the end,as many people said it was a very sad book.But I was utterly wrong.I ignored everything about the book and I’m glad I did,as it took me by surprise right at the start! Since everything was beyond my expectations and the storyline was interesting,and simply and beautifully narrated,I was eager to go through the chapters and unveil other truths.

The book itself is simple and very easy to read.I would normally read it when going to bed,at about 2 a.m,yet I never felt exhausted when going back to where I left Kathy and the others.To be honest I could have kept on reading the book till 3 or 4 in the morning.Ishiguro doesn’t employ any big word,and the colloquialism in Kathy’s narration contributes a lot to making our immersion in the book so easy.Kathy speaks with so much sincerity and pays attention to so many little details,that you cannot help feeling that you’re not at all reading a book,but instead watching her giving you an account of her life.It is also partly because of her that Never Let Me Go is so poignant,but I won’t say why as I don’t wish to reveal anything.

I’m thankful that the bloggers who reviewed this book made sure not to disclose any spoilers,as Never Let Me Go is best appreciated when you let it surprise you.What more can I say? It was heart-breaking.Books like Never Let Me Go are the reason for which I read so much.They make me feel literature’s magic,that is,to be greatly moved by somebody else’s writings about a world and characters that do not exist.

All in all,Never Let Me Go is now up there with my few favourites!This book is one of the saddest I’ve ever read and it reminds me of another book which has moved me almost equally: The God of Small Things,the Booker Prize Winner in 1997.

 

There’ll be more posts about this book in the coming days.

 

12 thoughts on “Never Let Me Go”

  1. I couldn’t agree with you more.
    I got to the book after the movie though and yet i enjoyed kathy’s journey in words more than motion picture.
    cant wait for your other posts on the same.

  2. I’m so glad you read it and enjoyed it. It’s one of those books that I love having in my personal library but I can’t bring myself to read it a second time because I don’t want to ruin it (if that even makes sense).

    1. Oh no,I think it is the type of book that needs to be re-read,so that everything makes sense right from the beginning.

      For instance we didn’t know what ”completed” meant at the start.When the book is re-read,there is less in perdition and we understand everything Kathy is saying: her little references to Ruth’s death or to Norfolk itself.

      But I agree that the surprise factor is lost when it is re-read,but that was what the first reading was meant for : to be taken entirely by surprise with everything in it.

      It pretty much reminds me of God of Small Things,which is as poignant as Never Let Me Go.It is also written similarly; throughout the novel you come across references you don’t understand,but which you do once you finish reading it.I read it 5 times,so I don’t think reading Never Let Me Go for a second time will make me enjoy it less! 😉

  3. Hi, I stumbled upon your blog by accident (well, I googled “Never Let Me Go Folio Society”). I finished reading the novel last night, I have the same edition that you have. It’s one of the best books I’ve ever read and it has left me with an undefinable mix of emotions where I can feel melancholy, impotence, tenderness, compassion, sadness…

    Fortunately, I have not watched the movie and will not do so. I believe only minor novels can give birth to great movies, and Never Let Me Go is not a minor novel, but a masterpiece.

    I will check God of Small Things, thanks for your post! 🙂

    1. Hi! Thanks for commenting! To be honest,this was an unofficial post about the book,haha: I have a formal review and a post explaining the ideas behind the book.So I hope I didn’t strike you as being ”silly” or anything like that. 🙂

      As I said in the post,I read this book just after Anna Karenina,which was absolutely stunning,and I had some reserves about Ishiguro’s novels,but it was so beautifully,humanely written.There are some people who really hate the book; they wanted the ending to be more satisfying and felt they read the story for nothing-they even gave it one star on goodreads.But I really adored it,and I’m glad you do too! 🙂

      You should check the other Booker nominees and winners out.The God of Small Things (Winner of 1997) is more experimental but incredibly beautiful and heartbreaking.The Sense of an Ending (Winner of 2011) is very thought-provoking and innovative.There’s also The Inheritance of Loss which is a delight to the eyes and bafflingly honest in its narrative!! 🙂

      I believe you’ll like at least one of these three books.

      And thanks again for stopping by!

Tell me what you think! :)

