The 3 Kafka novels

DSC_3061

Not everybody loves Kafka and I’m thankful for that.I joined the Folio Society last year when they were holding their Summer Sale,and these Kafka novels immediately caught my eye.They were each discounted at 50% and I knew I should have them.Although I hadn’t read any Kafka before,I knew about the man and since long wanted to read his novels,as I knew I would learn much from doing so.

Now,why am I thankful that Kafka’s books do not have a universal appeal? Well,I got these at 50% and that would never have been possible,had Kafka’s works been popular.As a matter of fact,Kafka’s ‘Metamorphosis and Other Stories’ wasn’t – and so far has not been – discounted,simply because the book is very popular and doesn’t need to be discounted to attract buyers.

I feel lucky to have discovered Kafka’s world in Folio editions.These books at times were heavy and depressing,but since they were turned into the best they could look by the Folio Society,it was easy for me to go through them.Bill Bragg,who illustrates all three books ,has totally grasped Kafka’s universe and the intros are superb.I would like to mention John Sutherland’s introduction for The Castle.If you’re a fan of Kafka,you HAVE to read this.This man knows Kafka by heart and gives you a different insight on the author.He talks about Camus’s Myth of Sisyphus,Freud’s thoughts on Kafka and what Kafka is to literature .So far,this is the best introduction of a book that I have read.

All in all,these Kafka books,especially the two at the top,are among those novels that made me into who I am today.And I always look at them differently from the way I do at other books.

– Hmm.I must save my money one day and buy The Metamorphosis and Other Stories.Only then will the collection be complete.

4 thoughts on “The 3 Kafka novels”

  1. I’ve just found your blog and I’m so happy! I recently signed up to The Classics Club and you’ve given me some security that the ones I’ve selected might be pretty good with your “Why You Should Read” feature (love this!). Excuse me while I go and peruse your entire blog now!

    1. Thanks!
      That is the goal of my blog,to make people want to read classics.To be honest I was no longer sure about the ‘Why You Should Read’ series,so I’m happy that you give me a reason to keep on doing it! I’m currently doing one for The Lord of the Flies.

      By the way,I believe my earlier posts are less better than the later ones.I plan on revisiting them one day! (to review typos and add other points)

      Again,thanks.You’ve made my day! 🙂
      I’ll be following you,as it’ll be interesting to see what you think of the books!

      1. Definitely appreciate the Why You Should Read series, I spotted two of the books I have on my Classics Club list and read your feature and I breathed a sigh of relief that I wasn’t letting myself in for a nightmare, so many reviews can be half as long as the novel itself and go off on tangents, I just wanted something short and sweet that would tell me instantly whether or not it’s for me.

        I have this blog-OCD where if I find one I like I start back at the beginning! I don’t know why, I just like to feel like I’m up-to-speed with what’s going on!

        I’m reading a wide variety of stuff along with my Classics Challenge, so I hope you aren’t going to be put off by reviews of those! But I have a list of 55 books selected (with one or two modern classics thrown in for good measure) and I’m starting this weekend – would you give me a recommendation for a really good one to get me started off my list?

        http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/the-classics-club/

Tell me what you think! :)

