Reading list for 2014.

DSC_1571

A bookworm is one who keeps buying books even though he has yet to finish reading all the ones on his shelves.

There are some books I bought in 2013 that I haven’t yet read.There are also books I ordered in (very late)2013 that I haven’t yet received.Given that I always read the books I bought first, my Reading List for 2014 will mostly be made of books bought in the past year.

So here is the list:
Note that the books are ordered from oldest to newest.

  1. Lord of the Flies – William Golding (currently reading)
  2. Of Human Bondage – Somerset W. Maugham
  3. Never Let Me Go – Kazuo Ishiguro
  4. The Great Gatsby – F.Scott Fitzgerald
  5. Midnight’s Children – Salman Rushdie
  6. A Brave New World – Aldous Huxley
  7. Anna Karenina – Leo Tolstoy
  8. Possession – A.S.Byatt
  9. 100 Years of Solitude – Gabriel García Márquez
  10. The Prince – Niccolo Machiavelli
  11. The Brothers Karamazov – Fyodor Dostoevsky
  12. Justine – Lawrence Durrell
  13. Good Behaviour – Molly Keane
  14. As I Lay Dying – William Faulkner
  15. Disgrace – J.M.Coetzee
  16. The Outsider – Albert Camus
  17. The sea,the sea – Iris Murdoch

Is there any book in this list that you’ve read? Do you think that one or more books will be particularly exhausting or incredibly endearing? I’d love to hear your thoughts. 🙂

18 thoughts on “Reading list for 2014.”

  1. This looks great! I think I’ve read about half of them, and they’re all among my favorites. (Perhaps except Karamazov, I wasn’t too impressed). But I LOVED Lord of the Flies, can’t wait to see what you think of it!

    1. Thanks for stopping by!
      I am currently reading Lord of the Flies,and I’m totally loving it.Seriously,I think it is another of literature’s countless gems!

  2. Looks like you have a great list here. These are always important to make for readers and writers. I have a literary blog, so I’m always interested in what people are reading this year. Keep writing!

    1. Thanks! 🙂
      Poor you!
      I was deterred from reading Les Miserables and Notre Dame de Paris after seeing their size.Besides,I read somewhere that Hugo loves taking quite a few chapters to establish the settings of his books.Maybe I will read those two by the end of my quest to read the best books of all time.

      Of Human Bondage,Midnight’s Children and Anna Karenina are also huge though. 😮

  3. Well to be honest I haven’t read any of these books as I recognize that some are classics…but they are on my to reads shelf. I have seen three movies based on three of the books you listed: Of Human Bundage(1931 I think) version with Bette Davis, Anna Karenina (1941 or 40) version with Vivian Leigh and The Great Gatsby with Leonardo DiCaprio which came out I believe a year ago or two. The best one if The Great Gatsby but they are all great movies. I am sure the books are excellent.

    1. The 3 books you’ve mentioned were written a very long time ago,and I hope they’ll be to my liking!

      But they’re classics and one always gains much from them.You should give some of them a chance too! 😀

      And don’t worry about typos! 😉

    1. I’m currently reading Maugham’s Of Human Bondage,and it is huge!!
      I don’t know if I’ve read a book that big before!
      (Maybe the Harry Potter books!)

  4. Hi kainzow06

    Thank you for reading “People who don’t like reading” on my blog.

    I am glad you asked if one or more of the books in the list is exhausting. One Hundred Years of Solitude is truly the most exhausting, wearying books I have ever picked up. I did not finish reading it. I have absolutely no idea how the friend who recommended it to me went through it herself. Perhaps some years from now I will be able to enjoy it. This has happened to me more than once; three years ago I was reading Ben Hur by Lew Wallace and found it so tedious that I could not go beyond the 30th page. But currently I am immersed in it and already more than halfway through it.

    1. Yeah,I suspected that the book would be tough,but it got a 4/5 on Goodreads ,which is no easy feat,and this,from over 300,000 reviewers.
      I hope I’ll like it,as it is one of the books I’m really looking forward to reading. 😀
      Thank you for stopping by and commenting!

Tell me what you think! :)

