50 Best Cult Books According to The Telegraph

I like the way the critics proceeded to do this list.For each period,they picked books that,according to them,have brought a change in literature or in people’s way of thinking.As a result,the list is perfectly balanced with each epoch having its own cult books.

Without further ado,let’s take a look at the list:
(Note: I’ve linked the books to their Wikipedia page)

~ The 19th Century

1.The Private Memoirs and Confessions of a Justified Sinner – James Hogg (1824)
2.The Rubáiyát of Omar Khayyám –  Edward FitzGerald (1859)
3.Thus Spoke Zarathustra – Friedrich Wilhelm Nietzsche (1883-85)
4.A Rebours – JK Huysmans (1884)

~ The 20s

1.Siddharta – Herman Hesse (1922)
2.The Prophet – Kahlil Gibran (1923)

~ The 30s

1.Journey to the End of Night – Louis Ferdinand Céline (1932)
2.Testament of Youth – Vera Brittain (1933)
3.The Road to Oxiana – Robert Byron (1937)

~ The 40s

1.The Stranger – Albert Camus (1942)
2.The Fountainhead – Ayn Rand (1943)
3.Baby and Child Care – Doctor Benjamin Spock (1946)
4.I Capture the Castle – Dodie Smith (1948)

~ The 50s

1.Dianetics: the Modern Science of Mental Health – L Ron Hubbard (1950)
2.The Catcher in the Rye – JD Salinger (1951)
3.The Doors of Perception – Aldous Huxley (1954)
4.Story of O – Pauline Réage (1954)
5.The Outsider – Colin Wilson (1956)
6.On The Road – Jack Kerouac (1957)
7.The Leopard –  Giuseppe di Lampedusa (1958)
8.TM The Alexandria Quartet – Lawrence Durrell (1957-1960)

~ The 60s

1.To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee (1960)
2.Catch-22 – Joseph Heller (1961)
3.One Flew Over the Cuckoo’s Nest – Ken Kesey (1962)
4.Labyrinths – Jorge Luis Borges (1962)
5.The Bell Jar – Sylvia Plath (1963)
6.Dune – Frank Herbert (1965)
7.The Magus – John Fowles (1966)
8.The Master and Margarita – Mikhail Bulgakov (1967)
9.Chariots of the Gods: Was God An Astronaut? – Erich Von Däniken (1968)
10.The Electric Kool-Aid Acid Test – Tom Wolfe (1968)
11.Slaughterhouse-Five – Kurt Vonnegut (1969)

~ The 70s 

1.Jonathan Livingston Seagull – Richard Bach and Russell Munson (1970)
2.The Female Eunuch – Germaine Greer (1970)
3.The Dice Man – Luke Rhinehart (1971)
4.Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas – Hunter S Thompson (1971)
5.Gravity’s Rainbow – Thomas Pynchon (1973)
6.Fear of Flying – Erica Jong (1973)
7.Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance: an Inquiry into Values – Robert M Pirsig (1974)
8.If on a Winter’s Night a Traveller – Italo Calvino (1979)
9.The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy – Douglas Adams (1979)
10.Gödel, Escher, Bach: an Eternal Golden Braid – Douglas R Hofstadter (1979)

~ The 80s

1.A Confederacy of Dunces – John Kennedy Toole (1980)
2.The Holy Blood and the Holy Grail – Michael Baigent, Richard Leigh and Henry Lincoln (1982)

~ The 90s

1.Iron John: a Book About Men – Robert Bly (1990)
2.The Beauty Myth – Naomi Wolf (1991)
3.The Celestine Prophecy – James Redfield (1993)

~ The 21st Century

1.No Logo – Naomi Klein (2000)
2.The Road – Cormac McCarthy (2006)
3.1Q84 – Haruki Murakami (2011)

My thought: Here goes another series of books to my wish-list….

8 thoughts on “50 Best Cult Books According to The Telegraph”

  1. This is an extremely interesting list. I haven’t seen the likes of it. And I don’t know many of the books on the list; clearly, I have major holes in my education. Thanks for sharing this!

      1. Don’t worry, I claim myself to be a literature scholar and I’ve only read three of those 😦 . I’ve noticed that the books are from many different fields, so it takes a self-conscious reader to pick the most influential books from each field and read them. I don’t think that anyone gets to read all these books on random, without deliberately aiming to do so.

  2. Really like this list and pleasantly surprised with myself that I’ve read at least one book in every decade. But that leaves so many more…

    1. Oh!
      I wish I were like you!
      There are many books which I haven’t yet read in this list!
      Besides there are also some that I haven’t even heard of before!
      Apparently not all classics are cult! :3

  3. I only read 16, which I guess isn’t all that bad, but some catching up on my cult book reading definitely would’t hurt. Yay for more stuff on top of my already huge “to read” pile!

    1. Haha,a pile of to-read books is never big enough,however huge it might already be and regardless of the time one realistically needs to finish reading all these books!
      That’s the everlasting plight of a bookworm for you! 😀

Tell me what you think! :)

